Formula One’s governing body, the FIA, has hit Carlos Sainz with a three-place grid penalty for impeding seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton during the qualifying session for the Japanese Grand Prix. Hamilton was speeding down the straight but was forced to slow down after Sainz blocked the racing line in Turn 1.

Despite the grass fire hazard affecting free practice sessions at the Suzuka Circuit, drivers managed to put in some great laps during qualifying. In the end, it was Max Verstappen who secured pole position for Sunday’s Grand Prix with a staggering time of 1:26.983.

Hamilton, who secured the eighth spot in the Ferrari SF-25 with a time of 1:27.610, had to abandon his fast lap after spotting Sainz in the way. The FIA took note of the incident and stated that Sainz’s actions were a breach of Article 37.5 of the FIA Formula One Sporting Regulations. Thus, he will face a “Drop of 3 grid positions for the next Race in which the driver participates.” The statement read:

“The Stewards heard from the driver of Car 55 (Carlos Sainz), team representatives and reviewed positioning/marshalling system data, video, team radio and in-car video evidence.

“Car 55 was on an in lap after having completed a push lap when Car 44 was starting its push lap, and Car 44 had to move off track to avoid Car 55 in Turn 1.

“The driver of Car 55 stated that he did not have any warning from the team, of the
approach of Car 44 on a push lap. He stated that he was caught completely by
surprise and because of the approach speed of Car 44, and the angle of his car, he could not see Car 44 in his mirrors.

“However not withstanding the above, the team had ample warning that Car 44 was on an out lap whilst Car 55 was on its push lap. Also, more than 8 seconds elapsed from when it was obvious Car 44 was not going into the pits, and hence was going to start a push lap, and when Car 55 could have taken appropriate action if the driver had been warned by the team.

“It is noted that the standard penalty guideline for this offence during Qualifying,
irrespective of whether it was the fault of the driver or the team, is a 3 grid position
penalty, and therefore the Stewards find that the standard penalty should be applied.

“Competitors are reminded that they have the right to appeal certain decisions of the Stewards, in accordance with Article 15 of the FIA International Sporting Code and Chapter 4 of the FIA Judicial and Disciplinary Rules, within the applicable time limits.”

Sainz qualified 12th for the Japanese GP, but due to the penalty, he will start the race from 15th.

Read the full article here

Share.
Leave A Reply

2025 © Prices.com LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Exit mobile version